Knitting in the Medieval Period

Knitting is something I had long thought of as being fairly modern, like, Elizabethan kind of modern. So I didn’t really pay much attention to learning to knit when I was a member of the local Spinners and Weavers group. I was more interested in spinning on a drop spindle, and weaving things from my hand spun yarn. I tried to get breeds of sheep that were fairly old, nothing like the modern merinos etc, and would try and weave using singles, not plied wool. All the ladies thought I was a bit nuts, but I was fairly young, and I came along, and did crafty stuff. And then we moved to the farm, and got horses, and life just got in the way. I occasionally do some spinning, but I haven’t woven anything for quite some time.

Getting back on track, a couple of days ago I decided I would learn to knit, so I could make some nice super warm winter socks. (Yes, I know, everyone tells me that socks are difficult to knit, but I’ve never been one to start with easy projects). Last night I looked into the history of needle knitting, and was super excited and surprised to see that it is much older than I thought it was.

The first extant knitted pieces are 11th or 12th C Egyptian, and they are stunning…

Egyptian socks circa 1100

Then there are some pieces, like this cushion cover, found in the tombs in the Abbey of Santa Maria la Real de Las Huelgas, a royal monastery, near Burgos, Spain. It was found in the tomb of Prince Fernando de la Cerda, who died in 1275. To me, this doesn’t look knitted, it looks like it could have been woven…

Knitted cushion from the tomb of the infante Fernando de la Cerda, c.1275

There is a 13th Century fragment, found in a cemetery in North Eastern Estonia…

Estonian fragment 13th C

And a knitted pouch, dated to the 13th C, in the Sens Cathedral Museum, France…

French Knit Pouch, 13th century, Sens Cathedral Museum, France

In the mid 14th Century some paintings begin to appear that show the Madonna knitting, along with a few more extant pieces…

lorenzetti close up Lorenzetti of Siena, 1345

Tommaso da Modena before 1349 close Tommaso da Modena, before 1349

Vitale degli Equi close Vitale degli Equi, circa 1353. This one I’m a little unsure of, It kind of looks like she is holding a piece of cloth, but others have postulated that she is knitting. I would love to see a better detailed image of this particular painting.

English Bishop’s Gloves, 1386 English Bishop’s gloves, circa 1386

Silk Germanic Pouche, 14th century, Treasury of cathedral in Sion, Switzerland German silk pouch, 14th Century, in the Treasury of the Cathedral in Sion, Switzerland

bertram of Minden 1400The Madonna by Bertram of Minden, c 1400

So, lots of knitting examples, now I’m wondering about the banded ladies socks/stockings/hose shown in the Maciejowski Bible, and thinking I might be able to knit them.

Macie socks1 Macie socks2

Now, I just need to practice 🙂

3 thoughts on “Knitting in the Medieval Period

  1. ramblingtart

    I didn’t know you blogged!! So excited 🙂 This is very similar to the research I did as well. So exciting to find that modern things are actually medieval. 🙂

    Like

    1. Miss C

      Hi Krista!!!
      I love the research part of living history, it can be challenging, frustrating, infuriating, and oh so rewarding. 🙂 Its nice when you find people who have looked at the same thing and found very similar results 🙂 Take care

      Like

  2. Pingback: Experiments in 2 needle knitting – MI Impressions

Leave a comment